Search

Canterbury theatre to host four varying music nights this August

PUBLISHED: 14:19 19 July 2017 | UPDATED: 14:19 19 July 2017

Tony Christie

Tony Christie

Archant

The shows include a mix of gospel, country, pop, and golden-oldie music

Canterbury’s Marlowe Theatre hosts four very different music nights in August.

The voices of Ladysmith Black Mambazo come to the Canterbury venue on Monday August 7.

Referred to by Nelson Mandela as “South Africa’s cultural ambassadors”, they sing rhythms and harmonies of their Zulu traditions to gospel music.

UK chart-topper Tony Christie brings together his catalogue of hits on Tuesday, August 8.

After his breakthrough in 1971, Tony has sold more then ten million records around the world.

Songs include Is This The Way To Amarillo?, I Did What I Did For Maria, Avenues And Alleyways, Kiss In The Night, and Walk Like A Panther.

There are limited tickets left for That’ll Be The Day, featuring hits from the 1950s to the 1980s, on Wednesday, August 9.

Islands In The Stream, on Thursday, August 10, celebrates Dolly Parton and Kenny Rogers, the queen and king of country music.

Country music’s greatest hits, including Jolene, Ruby, 9 To 5, Lucille, Here You Come Again, The Gambler, I Will Always Love You, Coward Of The County, Love Is Like A Butterfly, and Lady, will be performed on stage.

All shows start at 7.30pm; for ticket prices and to book, go to marlowetheatre.com, or call the box office on 01227 787787.

Latest entertainment

Friday, October 12, 2018

The new UK and Ireland tour of Let It Be will be arriving at the Orchard Theatre on Monday, October 15.

Friday, August 31, 2018

The Sensational 60s Experience will soon be returning to Bromley for on night only.

Monday, January 1, 2018

If 2018 is going to be anything like 2017, it’s going to be unpredictable.

Sunday, December 31, 2017

How much do you remember about the weird and wacky world of Twitter this year?

Tuesday, December 26, 2017

OK, you’ve probably eaten and drunk too much and you may be suffering for it today.

Monday, December 25, 2017

Fancy yourself as something of an aficionado of Christmas TV?

Friday, November 24, 2017

From the Top features classic swing songs

Thursday, November 23, 2017

The prints can be seen at Bluewater Shopping Centre and Tunbridge Wells

Most read news

Digital Edition

Image
Read the Bexley Times e-edition today
E-edition

Newsletter Sign Up

Bexley Times twice-weekly newsletter
Sign up to receive our regular email newsletter

Our Privacy Policy

Show Job Lists

Family Notices 24