General Election 2017: Voters turn out to Bexley’s polling stations

PUBLISHED: 12:52 08 June 2017 | UPDATED: 16:04 08 June 2017

Danny Hackett and Mabel Ogundayo voting

Danny Hackett and Mabel Ogundayo voting


Labour candidate Danny Hackett voted alongside Mabel Ogundayo, the deputy leader of Bexley Labour

Polling stations are slowly filling up across the borough as residents turn out to have their say on the general election.

In Old Bexley and Sidcup, local Labour candidate Danny Hackett was spotted with deputy leader of Bexley Labour, and Thamesmead East Ward councillor Mabel Ogundayo, after marking their ballot paper.

And Old Bexley and Sidcup resident Michael Power, turned out to vote with his two dogs (see picture).

If you spot a celebrity, local candidate, or dog at your polling station, send in your pictures to

Don’t forget to check out our live blog on the election news, views and results here.

If you value what this story gives you, please consider supporting the Bexley Times. Click the link in the yellow box below for details.

Become a supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years, through good times and bad. Coronavirus is one of the greatest challenges our community has ever faced, but if we all play our part we will defeat it. We're here to serve as your advocate and trusted source of local information.

In these testing times, your support is more important than ever. Thank you.


Old Bexley and Sidcup

  • James Brokenshire (Con) 24,682
  • Ibrahim Mehmet (Lab) 8,879
  • Catherine Reilly (Ukip) 8,528
  • Derek Moran (Green) 1,336
  • Dr Bob Gill (National Health Action) 1,216
  • Laurence Williams (Christian Party) 245
  • Nicola Finch (BNP) 218

Majority 15,803

Bexleyheath and Crayford

  • David Evennett, Conservative, 20,643
  • Stefano Borella (Lab) 11,451
  • Chris Attard (Ukip) 9,182
  • Richard Davis (Lib Dem) 1,308
  • Stella Gardiner (Green) 950
  • Maggi Young (English Democrat) 151

Majority: 9,192

Erith and Thamesmead

  • Teresa Pearce (Lab) 21,209
  • Anna Firth (Con) 11,684
  • Ronie Johnson (Ukip) 7,368
  • Simon Waddington (Lib Dem) 972
  • Ann Garrett (Green) 941
  • Sidney Cordle (Christian People’s Party) 255
  • Graham Moore (English Democrat) 188

Majority: 9,525

Most read news

Digital Edition

Read the Bexley Times e-edition today
Family Notices 24

Comments have been disabled on this article.

Most Read

Latest from the Bexley Times