Local election 2018: Conservatives hold Bexley

PUBLISHED: 09:01 04 May 2018 | UPDATED: 09:08 04 May 2018

Conservative leader Teresa O'Neill and Labour leader Daniel Francis held on to their seats. Pictures: Bexley Council

Conservative leader Teresa O'Neill and Labour leader Daniel Francis held on to their seats. Pictures: Bexley Council


Bexley Council remains firmly in the hands of the Conservatives following the local election which saw Ukip wiped out.

The contest had candidates fight for seats across all of Bexley’s 17 wards.

A total of 45 seats were up for grabs, down from 63 in 2014, a drop of 18 seats. This comes after the Local Government Boundary Commission for England published its findings to reduce the number of councillors.

The Tories took all but 11 seats with Labour taking the rest.

Council leader Teresa O’Neil kept her seat, now in Crook Lodge, as did Labour leader Daniel Francis in Belvedere, a traditional Labour stronghold. Labour’s deputy leader Mabel Ogundayo also kept her seat in Thamesmead East.

Former Ukip leader Chris Beazley did not stand again, nor did the Conservative deputy leader Don Massey.

Mayor Peter Reader won his seat in West Heath, but his deputy John Wilkinson did not stand this time.

As there has been such a major boundary change since the last election, direct comparisons are difficult.

But thanks to the changes, Labour did drop four seats and the Conservatives dropped 11. Ukip had candidates in Bexleyheath and Barnehurst, but were soundly beaten by the Tories.

The Conservatives took 55 per cent of the vote with Labour on 37 per cent.

Ukip and the Lib Dems were on three per cent each, while the Green Party, Independents, British National Party, and the Christian People’s Alliance were each on less than one per cent.

The lowest turnout for the evening was at Thamesmead East with just 29 per cent, while the highest was at 41 per cent in West Heath, Crook Lodge, and Longlands. The overall turnout was 37 per cent.

The Conservatives were in charge of the council before the 2018 election with 45 seats, followed by Labour on 15 and Ukip with three. The Tories have held Bexley since 2006.

If you value what this story gives you, please consider supporting the Bexley Times. Click the link in the orange box above for details.


Old Bexley and Sidcup

  • James Brokenshire (Con) 24,682
  • Ibrahim Mehmet (Lab) 8,879
  • Catherine Reilly (Ukip) 8,528
  • Derek Moran (Green) 1,336
  • Dr Bob Gill (National Health Action) 1,216
  • Laurence Williams (Christian Party) 245
  • Nicola Finch (BNP) 218

Majority 15,803

Bexleyheath and Crayford

  • David Evennett, Conservative, 20,643
  • Stefano Borella (Lab) 11,451
  • Chris Attard (Ukip) 9,182
  • Richard Davis (Lib Dem) 1,308
  • Stella Gardiner (Green) 950
  • Maggi Young (English Democrat) 151

Majority: 9,192

Erith and Thamesmead

  • Teresa Pearce (Lab) 21,209
  • Anna Firth (Con) 11,684
  • Ronie Johnson (Ukip) 7,368
  • Simon Waddington (Lib Dem) 972
  • Ann Garrett (Green) 941
  • Sidney Cordle (Christian People’s Party) 255
  • Graham Moore (English Democrat) 188

Majority: 9,525

Digital Edition

Read the Bexley Times e-edition today
Family Notices 24

Latest from the Bexley Times