Voter electoral registration deadline at midnight tonight

PUBLISHED: 10:25 20 April 2015 | UPDATED: 10:25 20 April 2015

Ballot paper

Ballot paper

(c) BasPhoto

The clock is ticking to make sure you can cast your vote

Members of the public who haven’t registered to vote are running out of time to do so, with the deadline at midnight this evening (April 20).

For those who miss the deadline, it could mean being turned away from the polls. And it seems many have not registered yet, with around 7.5 million people currently unregistered.

It’s thought that the drop is due to a change in the system of registering this year. Instead of the head of a ‘household’ being able to register all those who live at the property, for the first time separate individuals need to register. The change is part of a drive to cancel out any postal voting fraud.

Yesterday saw the highest ever voter registrations in a single day, with almost 125,000 people registering according to data made available by the government.

One of the reasons for the huge number of registrations is online registering - which has been made available for the first time this year. This means that people are able to use the government website to join the electoral register.

Alex Robertson, director of communications at the Electoral Commission said: “This is it. If you aren’t registered by April 20 then you simply won’t be able to vote on May 7 so do it now at”

“More and more people have been getting themselves registered, but it’s now time for one last push.”

For people who do miss the deadline, you can still cast your vote. Registration for a postal vote remains open until 11 working days before the election and registration for a proxy vote stays open until six working days before the election.


Old Bexley and Sidcup

  • James Brokenshire (Con) 24,682
  • Ibrahim Mehmet (Lab) 8,879
  • Catherine Reilly (Ukip) 8,528
  • Derek Moran (Green) 1,336
  • Dr Bob Gill (National Health Action) 1,216
  • Laurence Williams (Christian Party) 245
  • Nicola Finch (BNP) 218

Majority 15,803

Bexleyheath and Crayford

  • David Evennett, Conservative, 20,643
  • Stefano Borella (Lab) 11,451
  • Chris Attard (Ukip) 9,182
  • Richard Davis (Lib Dem) 1,308
  • Stella Gardiner (Green) 950
  • Maggi Young (English Democrat) 151

Majority: 9,192

Erith and Thamesmead

  • Teresa Pearce (Lab) 21,209
  • Anna Firth (Con) 11,684
  • Ronie Johnson (Ukip) 7,368
  • Simon Waddington (Lib Dem) 972
  • Ann Garrett (Green) 941
  • Sidney Cordle (Christian People’s Party) 255
  • Graham Moore (English Democrat) 188

Majority: 9,525

Most read news

Digital Edition

Read the Bexley Times e-edition today

Newsletter Sign Up

Bexley Times twice-weekly newsletter
Sign up to receive our regular email newsletter

Our Privacy Policy

Show Job Lists

Family Notices 24

Most Read

Latest from the Bexley Times

Hot Jobs

Show Job Lists