50 years since birth of London Borough of Bexley

PUBLISHED: 15:30 01 August 2013

Yesterday (July 31) marked 50 years since the London Borough of Bexley as we know it was born.

The London Government Act was given royal assent on July 31, 1963, creating 32 new London boroughs.

Bexley was formed from the municipal districts of Bexley and Erith, the urban district of Crayford and as much of the urban district of Chislehurst and Sidcup as lay north of the A20.

The act expanded London to include parts of Kent, Essex and Middlesex.

The act itself came into force in April 1965.

The question of whether Bexley should be part of London or Kent has been a hotly debated topic in the Times. What do you think? Email or tweet @BexleyTimes.

If you value what this story gives you, please consider supporting the Bexley Times. Click the link in the orange box above for details.

Become a supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Latest from the Bexley Times