Bexley constituencies due to change

PUBLISHED: 17:48 16 October 2012

Current Bexleyheath and Crayford MP David Evennett

Current Bexleyheath and Crayford MP David Evennett


The boundary commission has announced that the three parliamentary constituencies that cover Bexley borough are due to change.

The commission, which decides election boundaries, has suggested the constituencies should change to Bexleyheath and Erith, Sidcup and Welling and Thamesmead and Plumstead.

MPs will have the chance to vote on the proposals next year but the Liberal Democrats and Labour have said changes should not take place until after the 2015 General Election as both fear alterations will favour the Conservatives.

Current Bexleyheath and Crayford MP David Evennett said: “The commission has taken the views of local people into account and amended its original and unsatisfactory plans.

“The new proposals will keep most of Bexley’s towns and communities together within single constituencies. This is good news and I support the new proposals.”

The changes would see the number of politicians in the House of Commons reduced from 650 to 600 across the country. The consultation on the revised proposals is now open until December 10 of this year.

To find out how these changes might affect you and to have your say, visit

If you value what this story gives you, please consider supporting the Bexley Times. Click the link in the orange box above for details.

Most Read

Become a supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Most Read

Latest from the Bexley Times