Bexley MPs slam proposed electoral boundary changes

PUBLISHED: 15:26 16 September 2011

James Brokenshire

James Brokenshire

2010 AFP

All of the borough’s MPs, including a government minister, have slammed proposals to move the electoral boundaries saying the changes are “inappropriate” and “will cause confusion”.

The three constituencies in Bexley borough – while remaining – will be shaken-up under the proposals in a bid to have one less MP representing the Bexley, Lewisham and Greenwich area.

This means two Bexley wards moving into the Eltham constituency and the formation of two new constituencies called Erith, and Bexleyheath and Sidcup. The Boundary Commission for England launched a public consultation on Tuesday, after David Cameron vowed to reduce the number of MPs in the Commons and ­ensure there was an even division of voters in each constituency.

Proposals for the new Bexleyheath and Sidcup constituency will be for it to contain nine south Bexley wards, with the remaining two wards of Blackfen and Lamorbey, and Falconwood and Welling included in the Eltham constituency. Erith would become a constituency containing 10 north Bexley wards, using the railway line as the southern boundary.

Bexleyheath and Crayford MP David Evennett and Old Bexley and Sidcup MP James Brokenshire, the crime prevention minister, issued a joint statement saying: “We are very disappointed with the Boundary Commission’s proposals for Bexley and are concerned about the unnecessary division of local communities. Welling has been split between three very different constituencies, which could cause real confusion for residents as to who represents them in Parliament.

“North Bexleyheath will be completely separated from south Bexleyheath, using the railway line as a boundary, which is inappropriate and arbitrary.

The historic link between Crayford and North End will also be broken”

Erith and Thamesmead MP Teresa Pearce said: “This review takes no account of communities or natural boundaries.”

She was concerned that people in Welling and Bexleyheath would be in Erith and Thamesmead would be split into two.

The consultation ends on Monday December 5.

If you value what this story gives you, please consider supporting the Bexley Times. Click the link in the orange box below for details.

Most Read

Most Read

Latest from the Bexley Times