BY-ELECTION RESULTS: St Michael’s ward in Welling votes for new councillor

PUBLISHED: 15:27 01 July 2016

Picture: Rui Vieira/PA

Picture: Rui Vieira/PA

PA Wire/Press Association Images

Just over 30 per cent of voters turned out for the election

Welling’s electorate had the chance to vote for the third time this year on Thursday, when a council by-election was held.

The by-election came after the former Conservative councillor for St Michael’s ward, Joe Pollard, resigned in May due to work commitments.

The ward currently has a shared representation on the council, with Ukip’s Chris Beazley and Conservative Caroline Newton both holding seats in the ward.

Former local councillor Ray Sams was re-elected to Bexley council following Thursday’s vote.

A full list of results are as follows:

Keith Forster - UK Independence Party - 456

Michael Jones - British National Party Local People First - 105

Sam Marchant - Labour Party - 840

Derek John Moran - Green Party - 54

Simone Reynolds - Liberal Democrats - 117

Ray Sams - Conservative Party - 939 * ELECTED *

A total of 30.3 per cent of the local electorate turned out to vote.

If you value what this gives you, please consider supporting our work. Click the link in the yellow box below for details.

Become a supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years, through good times and bad. Coronavirus is one of the greatest challenges our community has ever faced, but if we all play our part we will defeat it. We're here to serve as your advocate and trusted source of local information.

In these testing times, your support is more important than ever. Thank you.

Most Read

Most Read

Latest from the Bexley Times