Four wards and 18 councillor jobs are being abolished in Bexley

PUBLISHED: 13:00 04 April 2017

Bexley Council offices

Bexley Council offices


Tory councillors first approved the idea in 2014

The number of councillors serving the borough’s residents will be slashed next year.

Currently the borough is served by 63 councillors, but after a lengthy-campaign, the council has seen legislation to cut the number of councillors down approved by Parliament.

The changes will come into effect at the local council elections in May 2018, when the figure will drop to 45.

Not only will the number of councillors drop, but so to will the amount of wards, dropping from 21 to 17, represented by either two or three councillors.

Here is the new list of wards and their respective number of councillors:

Barnehurst 2

Belvedere 3

Bexleyheath 3

Blackfen & Lamorbey 3

Blendon & Penhill 3

Crayford 3

Crook Log 3

East Wickham 3

Erith 2

Falconwood & Welling 3

Longlands 2

Northumberland Heath 2

Sidcup 3

Slade Green & Northend 2

St Mary’s & St James 2

Thamesmead East 3

West Heath 3

If you value what this story gives you, please consider supporting the Bexley Times. Click the link in the orange box above for details.

Become a supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Comments have been disabled on this article.

Latest from the Bexley Times