$render.recurse($ctx, '$content.code.value')
$render.recurse($ctx, '$content.code.value')

No surprises for Bexley on election night

PUBLISHED: 17:14 17 December 2019 | UPDATED: 17:14 17 December 2019

There was no change in political colour for the Bexley area.

There are three constituencies in the borough - Bexleyheath & Crayford; Old Bexley and Sidcup; and Erith and Thamesmead.

In Old Bexley and Sidcup, the sitting Conservative James Brokenshire is the only candidate to stand this time and in 2015.

Mr Brokenshire, secretary of state for housing, communities and local government when the election was called, won the seat with 29,786 votes, while Labour's Dave Tingle was second on 10,834.

In third was Simone Reynolds, Lib Dem, on 3,822; Matt Browne, Green, took 1,477; and Christian Peoples' Carol Valinejad took 226.

Previously, the Conservative had 29,545, while Labour had 14,079 and Ukip came a distant third on 1,619.

Turnout was 70 per cent

In Bexleyheath and Crayford, the incumbent David Evennett won with 25,856 votes, with Labour's Anna Day in second on 12,753. Next was David McBride, Liberal Democrat, taking 2,819; Tony Ball, Green, 1,298; and Graham Moore for the English Democrats Putting England First with 520.

Last time out in 2017, the Conservative took 25,113 votes and was the only candidate to stand in both elections. Labour took 16,040; UKIP had 1,944; Lib Dems 1,201, with Greens on 601 and finally BNP with 290.

You may also want to watch:

The turnout was 66 per cent.

In Erith and Thamesmead, Labour MP Teresa Pearce won in 2015 with 25,585, but did not stand this time.

The Labour candidate Abena Oppong-Asare won with a decreased 19,882 votes.

Joe Robertson, Conservative, had 16,124; Tom Bright, Brexit Party, 2,246; Sam Webber, Lib Dems, 1,984; Claudine Letsae, Green, the only candidate to stand last time, 876; and finally Richard Mitchell, Christian People's Alliance, 272.

Turnout was 63 per cent.

With Conservatives' joy at winning 365 of the 650 seats, the results took their toll on Labour and the Liberal Democrats.

The Lib Dem leader Jo Swinson lost her seat and party leadership after vowing to take the country to a second Brexit referendum.

And Labour leader Jeremy Corbyn is likely to be out of the job by March.

The Conservatives took a hearty 43.6 per cent of the vote.

If you value what this story gives you, please consider supporting the Bexley Times. Click the link in the orange box above for details.

Become a supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Latest from the Bexley Times